Skip to main content

Apprentice Awards

HIA Apprentice Awards celebrate the achievements of our future tradespeople while encouraging continued excellence in the industry. Winners are given the chance to boost their career with industry recognition; signalling a bright future in the industry. 

This award is open to all apprentices of HIA members. Apprentices can be nominated by their host or employer. Nominate your apprentice today.

Entries are closed for 2021!


Judging is carried out by a panel of judges comprising of industry representatives. They will review your submission alongside all other applicants. Once finalists have been selected, HIA will contact each successful apprentice to arrange a face-to-face interview.

Here is an example of the questions the judges may ask:

  • What are your thoughts on the changes within the building industry?
  • Tell me about your experience of safety on site.
  • Thinking about your host, how would they describe their ideal apprentice? What positive qualities do you think they are looking for in an apprentice?
  • What words of advice would you give to a person who is thinking about starting an apprenticeship in the building industry?

What are we looking for?

Judges consider attitude to work, maturity, personal development and overall progress throughout the Apprenticeship. They also consider:

  • Work ethic
  • Communication skills and personal presentation
  • Ability to follow instructions
  • Trade and industry knowledge
  • Understanding of Work Health & Safety
  • Relationship with fellow workers, host and clients
  • Academic results and awards

When will winners be announced?

Winners will be announced at Awards ceremonies between June to November 2021. Check your local events calendar.

Conditions of entry

Entrant eligibility

  1. Entrants must be an apprentice employed by one of the following:
    a) directly employed by a financial member ofthe Housing Industry Association (HIA); or
    b) employed by HIA Apprentices; or
    c) employed by a Group Training Organisation (GTO) which is a financial member of HIA.
  2. Employers, host trainers and GTO’s must be financial members of HIA at the time of entry until the completion of the awards program.
  3. Terms of entry

  4. All applicable sections of the entry form must be completed.
  5. Apprentices must be registered with the relevant training authority as an apprentice in the region that they have nominated.
  6. If the Apprentice is entered into a category for which they do not qualify, HIA reserves the right to move the Apprentice to an appropriate category, without prior consent from the entrant.
  7. HIA reserves the right to amalgamate categories to best represent the industry if deemed appropriate.
  8. Judges reserve the right to decline to present an Award in a particular category if a minimum standard of excellence has not been reached.
  9. The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  10. Publicity & warranties

  11. The entrant:
    a) warrants that the details of their entry are correct in every respect and comply with the conditions of entry;
    b) warrants that the entry has the apprentices consent;
    c) grants to the HIA an irrevocable license to use the subject matter of the entry and material included with or as part of the entry for any purpose in connection with the promotion of the HIA and the Awards;
    d) agrees to state the category, HIA region and the year awarded, whenever disclosing information or themselves in any communications media, as a finalist or winner in the Apprentice Awards; and
    e) agrees to comply with the HIA Awards Advertising Standards, HIA Award winners conditions of use and HIA Award logo style guide.
  12. Client/entrant notification

  13. All entrants will be advised of the judging date and time by the Housing Industry Association following the close of entries.
  14. Each Apprentice will be judged by industry professionals who volunteer their time. Apprentices will be interviewed by the judges within a 100km radius of the major regional centre. Entrants outside this area may be judged by phone interview.
  15. Disqualification

  16. HIA reserve the right to disqualify an applicant before, during or after the contest judging, official announcement of winners and awards presentation if the HIA determines that:
    a) The entry or entrant breeches or otherwise fails to meet/observe any of the above stated eligibility or contest requirements;
    b) HIA considers false or misleading information is intentionally provided;
    c) the entrant (the apprentice and/or employer) ceases to be a member of the HIA.
  17. In the case of disqualification after the awards’ ceremony the entrant will be required to return the award and a public announcement may be made by HIA.
  18. Disclosure

  19. The HIA cannot guarantee the return of entry material supplied. All documentation will be securely stored at the completion of the awards program.
  20. HIA does not guarantee that all entrants will be featured in publications or promotional events related to the HIA awards.
  21. Privacy & personal information

  22. HIA may collect personal information (as defined in the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth)) and other information relating to the entrant’s business in order to administer the Awards. All entries become HIA’s property.
  23. By participating in the Awards (including by submitting an entry), the entrant consents for HIA to use and disclose any personal information:
    a) for the purposes set out in HIA’s Privacy Statement available at; and
    b) to HIA’s related entities, business partners, agencies, sponsors and other third parties engaged to provide services in connection with the Awards, in order to:
    i) market to the entrant, including by email, SMS/ MMS, mail, social media and telephone; and
    ii) administer the Awards.
  24. The entrant agrees that such consent continues unless otherwise withdrawn. To withdraw consent to receive marketing material from HIA or a third party or request that personal information not be disclosed to a third party, the entrant may:
    a) Call HIA on 1300 650 620
    b) Email

Glossary of terms

The person who hires an apprentice from a Group Training Organisation (GTO).

The person or company that directly indentures the apprentice (employs and is responsible for the payment of wages, Superannuation, workcover etc).

Registered Training Organisation (RTO)
Where the apprentice or trainee does their trade qualification (eg. TAFE).

A copy of a student’s academic record; providing details on modules and grades.

HIA Apprentices
Is a GTO (Group Training Organisation). The GTO indentures the apprentice, manages the apprenticeship and places the apprentice with a host. The GTO is the legal employer of the apprentice.

Training Plan
This is the qualification the apprentice works to, to gain their qualification. The RTO provides the training plan to the apprentice.

When a person is signed up under a training contract (apprentice or trainee).