s smith

2019 HIA Australian Spec Home

The 2019 HIA Australian Spec Home has been awarded to S Smith Builders in Victoria for a stunning timber-clad home in the Mornington Peninsula.

Photo courtesy S Smith Builders
Spec Home

2019 HIA Australian Spec Home

Winner: S Smith Builders, Victoria

S Smith Builders from Victoria has won the title for Australian Spec Home for an eye-catching Mornington Peninsula home design, awarded at the prestigious HIA–CSR Australian Housing Awards ceremony on 25 May.

Geared toward the semi-retired couple, the winning project is a modern and low-maintenance holiday home that showcases a striking marriage of glass and timber.

Inside, the generous kitchen wows with its butler’s pantry, retractable skylight and glass splashback, while hideaway doors help to zone the different areas of the home for functional living and relaxing. Outside, the rammed earth features inspired the judges as they moved from the backyard, inclusive of a private pool and cut out feature fencing, into the separate entertainment area, the rumpus room. 

This year’s award winners were revealed before hundreds of industry leaders on the final night of the HIA 2019 National Conference in Perth. The HIA–CSR Australian Housing Awards are the ultimate platform to showcase the talents of the nation’s top builders and designers, with the winners selected from state-based finalists in 22 separate categories.

The Spec Home category criteria is for an individual house, not built to a client's brief nor on display to the public, which is either sold off-plan or built for sale on completion or during construction.


  • ACT/Southern NSW: VisCon Homes and DNA Architects
  • Hunter: Yarrum Designer Homes 
  • North Queensland: Allaro Homes Cairns
  • Northern Territory: Doyle Contracting
  • NSW: Vivid Built
  • Queensland: Dayne Lawrie Constructions
  • South Australia: SV Built
  • Tasmania: Blackley Builders
  • Western Australia: Di Vincenzo Constructions 

HIA Australian Spec Home, partnered by Stratco

View previous Award winners

Related Articles

2019 HIA Australian Townhouse/Villa of the Year

Rivergum Homes in South Australia has won the 2019 HIA Australian Townhouse/Villa of the Year award for a light-filled compact and stylish corner-block abode.

2020 HIA Australian Townhouse/Villa of the Year

The 2020 HIA Australian Townhouse/Villa of the Year was awarded to South Australia’s Metricon Homes for this exquisite example of spacious design on a small lot.

A winner – now and zen

10 years after he won HIA’s Australian Home of the Year, builder Ryan Stidwill has learnt that friendship, the love of nature and the search for inner calm is what keeps him inspired every day.

Wanted: building designers

HIA’s Residential Building Designer award recognises the people behind the design. If you’ve got a worthy project, get in quick because entries for 2020 close 30 June.

Join more than 120,000 like-minded subscribers