Skip to main content

Building Women Awards

Recognising women in building and construction

Amazing business women are all around us who have the ability to:

  • Inspire
  • Create environments in which people thrive
  • Influence
  • Achieve results
  • Motivate
  • Mentor
  • Make things happen

HIA is proud to recognise the significant contribution that women make to the residential and construction industry, and to raise the profile of professional women within the industry, as well as promote and encourage excellence.

The HIA Building Women Awards acknowledges the outstanding achievements of women working in small to large based business to large corporate industries, which excel in leadership and inspire others to succeed beyond expectation.

HIA would also like to recognise and acknowledge women who have overcome significant challenges in their business and/or made a significant contribution as a result of their business success.

How to enter

There are two ways you can submit your nomination. HIA members can upload their submission online.

Non- members in Queensland need to complete a hard copy nomination form, submitted to your local HIA office along with copies of the documents in the checklist.

Entries in South Australia and Northern Territory are limited to HIA members only.

Who can enter

Women who are currently in a profession or role in the building and construction industry or related industry including but not limited to trades, design, professional services, business owners, manufacturer & supplier, senior management and executives.

An individual may nominate themselves, or may be nominated by a third party, subject to nominee’s approval. Past nominees and award winners are permitted to submit nominations for 2021 Awards.


Select the relevant category from the lists below for your entry in the HIA Building Women Awards 2021. Winners in the categories below are recognised locally and do not progress to the Australian Housing Awards.

Nominees can enter into multiple categories, where applicable. Judges reserve the right to change a nominee's category to best represent their industry background and achievement.

Category award winners will compete to win their state's 2021 Professional Woman of the Year.