Skip to main content

HIA-CSQ Small Business Program

Given the important role that small businesses play in the growth of the regional economy, Construction Skills Queensland (CSQ) and HIA are teaming up to deliver a Small Business Management Course, assisting these businesses to grow, survive and prosper. 

With comprehensive course resources, including a 2-hour one-on-one mentoring session, the 10-week program aims to increase the capability and capacity of small construction businesses and ensure a successful future.

There’s many skills that goes into building a successful small business from planning, marketing, to management and operations, so join us for the first intake starting 18 February 2021.

Ready to get better at business? Express your interest today and our team will be in touch.

 

ENQUIRE NOW

 

Program dates

  • 18 February - 19 April
  • 21 April - 17 June
  • 23 June - 18 August

 

Topics February intake April intake June intake

Business Planning

  • Legal & Risk Management
  • Plan Small Business Finance
  • Small Business Planning

Managing a Business

  • Manage your Small Business Finance
  • Manage a Small Team

Marketing a Business

  • Market a Small Business
  • Undertake Marketing Activities

Operating a Business

  • Monitor and Manage Small Business Operations
  • Establish Networks
  • Provide a Quotation

Thursday, 18 February
3.00pm - 6.00pm

Wednesday, 21 April
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 23 June
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 25 February
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 28 April
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 1 July
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 1 March
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 29 April
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 5 July
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 3 March
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 13 May
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 12 July
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 8 March
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 19 May
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 14 July
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 10 March
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 20 May
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 19 July
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 18 March
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 27 May
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 21 July
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 25 March
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 31 May
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 29 July
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 29 March
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 2 June
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 5 August
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 12 April
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 7 June
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 12 August
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 14 April
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 9 June
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 6 September
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Monday, 19 April
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Thursday, 17 June
3.00pm - 6.00pm
Wednesday, 8 September
3.00pm - 6.00pm

 

Who should enrol in the program?

The program is designed for owners and key employees of small building and construction businesses in Queensland.

You do not need to be a HIA member to sign up, the program is open to anyone that meets the eligibility requirements.*

How much does it cost?

The Small Business Management Course is partially funded, participant contribution is only $250.

How long will it take?

Delivered over a 10 week term, the course is made up of multiple sessions, each delivered in a virtual classroom format. Each session runs for 3 hours.

 

ENQUIRE NOW

 

*Eligibility requirements 

  1. An owner of an Eligible Building and Construction Small Business; or
  2. an employee of an Eligible Building and Construction Small Business who is directly involved in the day to day running of the business.

    AND MUST BE:

  3. an Australian or New Zealand citizen; or
  4. a permanent resident of Australia; or
  5. a refugee and humanitarian visa holder.

    AND MUST:

  6. permanently reside in Queensland; or
  7. be permanently employed in Queensland.

Eligible Building and Construction Small Business means a business with 20 or less employees that conducts building and construction work in the Queensland Building and Construction Industry and is based in Queensland.

Building and Construction Industry has the same meaning as the Building and Construction Industry (Portable Long Services Leave) Act 1991 (Qld) as amended from time to time.

Construction Skills Queensland