cordwell lane

2019 HIA Australian Bathroom of the Year

The 2019 HIA Australian Bathroom of the Year was awarded for a boundary-breaking bathroom from Lane Group in Tasmania.

Photo courtesy Lane Group
Bathroom of the year external

2019 HIA Australian Bathroom of the Year

Winner: Lane Group, Tasmania


Tasmania’s Lane Group has won Australian Bathroom of the Year, announced at the 2019 HIA–CSR Australian Housing Awards in Perth on 25 May before hundreds of industry leaders.

The winning bathroom extends beyond the usual boundaries of amenity spaces. With an outdoor bath nestled among the wooded landscape, relaxation is proven to be as high a priority as functionality in this lodge-like retreat. The bath and indoor wet areas are set back from the remainder of the property, forming a U-shape, to ensure privacy during use. 

Contrasting the textured timber cladding of this modern cabin-in-the-woods design, the charcoal tiling in the shower naturally guides the eye to the full-length window and view of the ocean ahead.

The Australian Bathroom of the Year award recognises quality workmanship in the manufacture and installation of a complete single, residential bathroom.

HIA Tasmanian Executive Director Stuart Collins congratulated Lane Group and each of the finalists both in the region and the national category, saying the HIA–CSR Australian Housing Awards program is unsurpassed in the residential building industry.

‘HIA members representing Tasmania at the national Housing Awards really have excelled and it is my pleasure to congratulate each of them,' he said. 'From sustainable initiatives to incredible workmanship, these projects are remarkable.

‘Each year a high calibre of creative and innovative nominations are put forward to compete against other projects from all around Australia. They really do represent the best in the business.’

The HIA–CSR Australian Housing Awards showcase the talents of the nation’s top builders and designers. Winners are selected from state-based finalists, with awards in 22 separate categories.


  • ACT/Southern NSW: Archertec Interiors, Heiniger Joinery and Mass Construction Group
  • Hunter: Construct Central Coast
  • North Queensland: AP Williams & Co
  • Northern Territory: Vanguard Homes
  • NSW: Logico Homes
  • Queensland: Darren James Interiors
  • South Australia: Brilliant SA
  • Victoria: Better Bathrooms & Kitchens
  • Western Australia: Giorgi

HIA Australian Bathroom of the Year, partnered by Caroma

View previous Award winners

Related Articles

People's choice award: vote now!

You can now vote for your favourite home in the 2019 HIA–CSR Australian People’s Choice Home of the Year category.

2019 HIA Australian Spec Home

The 2019 HIA Australian Spec Home has been awarded to S Smith Builders in Victoria for a stunning timber-clad home in the Mornington Peninsula.

2019 HIA–CSR Australian Home of the Year

The 2019 HIA–CSR Australian Home of the Year award has been taken out by Bellevarde Constructions in NSW for a stunning coastal residence, cantilevered to create a gravity-defying illusion.

2019 HIA Australian Display Home

Better Building Services, DNA Architects and Sugar Designs in the ACT were awarded the 2019 Australian Display Home for a smart-home design with eco-friendly capabilities.

Join more than 120,000 like-minded subscribers